Dallas Fuel Shares it’s 2020 Overwatch League Season Schedule

Reading Time: 3 minutes

Dallas Fuel

2020 marks the Overwatch League’s third season and the start if the recently announced home-and-away format with a weekend of competitive play hosted by the Dallas Fuel and the New York Excelsior. Opening Weekend in Dallas will feature two matches on Saturday and Sunday against the Los Angeles Valiant on Feb. 8 and the San Francisco Shock on Feb. 9, and both will take place at Esports Stadium Arlington, the largest dedicated esports venue in North America.

Beginning with the coming season, the Overwatch League will have four divisions of five teams, with each division being part of either the Pacific or Atlantic Conference. The Dallas Fuel will play 28 regular-season matches and compete in the Western Division of the Pacific Conference, which also includes the Valiant, the Shock, Los Angeles Gladiators and the Vancouver Titans.

The Overwatch League has become the first global esports league with city-based teams, which means each franchise will host at least two weekends of competition in the new home-and-away season schedule format. After the success of the Dallas Fuel’s Homestand Weekend in April, the team was awarded the maximum of five weekends of competition in their market.

“Fans in North Texas really helped the esports industry pass a critical first test about the sustainability of a home-and-away format for the Overwatch League with flying colors,” said Mike Rufail, owner and CEO of Envy Gaming, the organization that owns the Dallas Fuel. “We’re excited to be among the teams bringing this new format of play directly to our fans at every possible opportunity.”

 

The second weekend in Dallas will feature three matches per day and will take place April 4-5 at the Toyota Music Factory. The Fuel will play the Chengdu Hunters on April 4 and the Hangzhou Spark on April 5.

During the third weekend April 25-26 at Allen Event Center, which is also a triple header, the team will face off against the Guangzhou Charge and the Shanghai Dragons. The third weekend will serve as the last week of competition in the first half of the regular season before the mid-season split week.

The locations of the fourth (May 23-24) and fifth (July 11-12) weekends of competitive play hosted by the Fuel will be announced at a later date.

“Our favorite part of what we do is getting to play in front of our fans, and playing at different venues across North Texas will enable us to do just that,” said Aaron “Aero” Atkins, head coach of the Fuel. “Nothing beats the roar of an energized crowd after a big play or hard-fought match.”

Ticket sales for the 2020 Overwatch League season will launch Aug. 28. Sign up for priority ticket access at DallasFuel.com.

2020 Dallas Fuel Schedule:

DATE

OPPONENT LOCATION TIME (Central)
Saturday, Feb. 8 Los Angeles Valiant HOME (Esports Stadium Arlington) 6 p.m.
Sunday, Feb. 9 San Francisco Shock HOME (Esports Stadium Arlington) 6 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 28 Seoul Dynasty Hangzhou 10 p.m.
Sunday, March 1 Hangzhou Spark Hangzhou 4 a.m.
Saturday, March 7 Chengdu Hunters Seoul 2 a.m.
Saturday, March 14 Guangzhou Charge Guangzhou 6 a.m.
Sunday, March 15 Shanghai Dragons Guangzhou 2 a.m.
Saturday, March 28 Vancouver Titans San Francisco 5 p.m.
Sunday, March 29 Los Angeles Gladiators San Francisco 3 p.m.
Saturday, April 4 Chengdu Hunters HOME (Toyota Music Factory) 8 p.m.
Sunday, April 5 Hangzhou Spark HOME (Toyota Music Factory) 8 p.m.
Saturday, April 18 Seoul Dynasty Los Angeles (Valiant Homestand) 7 p.m.
Saturday, April 25 Guangzhou Charge HOME (Allen Event Center) 8 p.m.
Sunday, April 26 Shanghai Dragons HOME (Allen Event Center) 8 p.m.
Saturday, May 16 Vancouver Titans Vancouver 9 p.m.
Sunday, May 17 Los Angeles Gladiators Vancouver 6 p.m.
Saturday, May 23 London Spitfire HOME (TBA) 8 p.m.
Sunday, May 24 Toronto Defiant HOME (TBA) 8 p.m.
Saturday, May 30 Paris Eternal New York 6 p.m.
Sunday, May 31 New York Excelsior New York 6 p.m.
Saturday, June 13 Boston Uprising Paris 10 a.m.
Saturday, July 4 Philadelphia Fusion Vancouver 7 p.m.
Sunday, July 5 Washington Justice Vancouver 4 p.m.
Saturday, July 11 Atlanta Reign HOME (TBA) 7 p.m.
Sunday, July 12 Houston Outlaws HOME (TBA) 7 p.m.
Saturday, July 18 Florida Mayhem San Francisco 3 p.m.
Saturday, Aug. 8 Los Angeles Valiant Los Angeles (Valiant Homestand) 9 p.m.
Sunday, Aug. 9 San Francisco Shock Los Angeles (Valiant Homestand)

9 p.m.